Pet Peeves

Do you have any pet peeves?

Every once in a while I am reminded that I have one or two.  This past week I was setting up some new monitors for a customer that wanted to enter the 2 Screen world with their office computers.  I’ve been using two monitors on my desktop computer for quite a while and I would never want to go back to a single monitor.  I remember when 15″ CRT monitors were considered a nice size.  My monitors are 17″.  When I went to my supplier to pick up monitors for my customer I had thought I would get him pairs of 20″ wide screen monitors.  My salesman told me to get 22″ wide screens – that they cost less than 20’s!

Anyway, I am off the subject.

This pet peeve has to do with the way they wrap the monitor DATA CABLE. This has to be a result of some misunderstanding between cultures of the west and east.  Someone in the far east heard a word from the west – the word was probably “twist-tie”.  The person in the far east didn’t know what twist-tie meant and was embarrassed to ask.  They looked it up in their dictionary – did not find it – and decided on their own that it meant – wrap a data cable so that it would be completely sanitized and sterile when it was received and that it would be a pain-in-the-a** to unwrap.  Once one eastern company saw that the first company was doing with the cables they decided to copy the first because after all – they are masters of copying.  Next everyone was doing it.

If you are not sure what I am referring to – check out this photo.  In case you can’t make out all the detail – there are:

  1. 3 twist ties
  2. 2 end caps
  3. 2 rubber bands
  4. 1 plastic sleeve
  5. 2 special wrappings for the connectors that are bound by the rubber bands.

It takes several minutes just to unwrap this single cord.

image

Leave a Reply

